News from the Senate Majority

Alaska State Legislature

Wendy Lindskoog, Senate Majority Press Secretary
State Capitol
Juneau, AK 99801-1182
Phone: 907/465-4582
Broadcast Actualities: 800/478-6540

For Immediate Release: February 19, 1997 Contact: Senator Sean Parnell 907/465-2995

Senate Announces New Special Committee On Telecommunications

Juneau -- Due to rapid changes in the telecommunications industry and recognizing the implications the Federal Telecommunications Act of 1996 will have on Alaska’s economy, the Senate Wednesday announced the formation of its new Special Committee on Telecommunications.

Senate President Mike Miller named Senator Sean Parnell (R-Anchorage) Chairman of the new committee.

"I look forward to the challenges this committee will face in the coming years as we forge new ground in the explosive telecommunications field," said Parnell.

Parnell noted the primary intent of the new federal law is to open all telecommunications markets to competition by developing fair rules for all participants.

"To implement the federal law, states must review their own laws and regulations and determine what changes are needed," explained Parnell. "Our telecommunications committee will provide a forum for facilitating the goals of the Telecommunications Act -- to encourage competition in the telecommunications industry while providing better service to Alaskans."

The Senate Telecommunications Special Committee will be responsible to:

Parnell noted that the committee will also be used as a committee of first jurisdiction for telecommunications legislation. "We will work jointly with our House counterpart whenever reasonably possible," said Parnell.


Broadcast Note: Radio Actualities are available by calling 800/478-6540.