22nd Alaska State Legislature
Information from Senator Alan Austerman (R)
District C - Kodiak Archipelago/Southeast Islands

Click image for large 5'' x 7'' picture, 153.5k Session:
State Capitol, Room 417
Juneau, AK 99801-1182
Phone: (907) 465-2487
Toll Free: (800) 865-2487
Fax: (907) 465-4956

112 Mill Bay Road
Kodiak, AK 99615
Phone: (907) 486-8872
Fax: (907) 486-5264 (at LIO)

Sponsor Statement for SB 79
Fred Zharoff Memorial Bridge

An Act naming the Fred Zharoff Memorial Bridge.

Last Updated: March 15, 2001

Fred Zharoff served in the House of Representatives beginning with the Eleventh Alaska State Legislature for three terms. In 1985, he then began serving in the Alaska State Senate for three additional terms continuing through the Nineteenth Alaska State Legislature. He ended his distinguished career in 1997.

For almost 20 years Senator Zharoff served the citizens of Kodiak Island, Bristol Bay, the Aleutian Chain, the Alaska Peninsula, the Southern Kenai Peninsula and rural Southeast Alaska.

During his tenure in the legislature, Fred was instrumental in bringing projects to Kodiak such as the Near Island Bridge. His successful efforts garnered the $18 million dollars necessary to construct this vital link to Near Island. The completion of this bridge led to the full utilization of the St. Herman Harbor, the development of the Fishery Industrial Technology Center and the Kodiak Fisheries Research Center. In addition, the new expanded float plane mooring and associated facilities are now located on the back side of Near Island.

This name designation is a fitting and lasting memorial in recognition of Senator Fred Zharoff's contribution to his community.

# # #


| Sen. Torgerson's Page |

Related Links

Bill Actions for SB 141

Printer Friendly Sponsor Statement for SB 141

Fishery Industrial Technology Center

Kodiak Fisheries Research Center


| Top | [an error occurred while processing this directive] Previous Page | Home | Site Search | Breaking News | Legislators | Bills |
| Committees | E-Newsletter | Surveys | Research | Help |

The Official Web Site of the House and Senate Legislative Majorities
for the 22nd Alaska State Legislature

To Report Technical Problems or Contact Webmasterse-mail address list