22nd Alaska State Legislature
News from the House Majority

Speaker Porter Gavels in House for 22nd Legislature

For Immediate Release:
January 8, 2001
Contact: Representative Brian Porter Office

JUNEAU -- Rep. Brian Porter (R-Anchorage) was unanimously re-elected as Speaker of the House of Representatives today, as the 22nd Alaska Legislature convened for its first day of the new session.

"We've got an excellent set of freshmen legislators, and an equally outstanding group of returning representatives," Porter said upon taking his seat at the House rostrum. "We don't have any excuse for not doing a really good job in these next two years."

Porter, who also served as Speaker in the 21st Alaska Legislature, heads up a Majority of 27 Republicans and one Democrat. Porter said he will work closely with members of his caucus to decide legislative priorities, and predicted they will reflect the desires expressed by Alaskans in the recent election. These include:

  • Providing the standards and resources necessary to provide young Alaskans with the high-quality education they need to compete in the modern economy
  • Helping government and business co-operate to bring North Slope natural gas to market
  • Reducing the threat of drunken drivers on Alaska's streets
  • Reuniting all Alaskans into a community of mutual respect and common values
  • Crafting a budget ensuring Alaskans receive value for every dollar spent
  • Beginning discussions on a long-term fiscal plan to ensure Alaska continues to prosper in the new century

Other legislative leaders ratified by the full House include Majority Leader Rep. Jeannette James (R-North Pole); Finance Committee Co-chairs Rep. Eldon Mulder (R-Anchorage) and Rep. Bill Williams (R-Saxman); and Rules Committee Chair Rep. Pete Kott (R-Eagle River).

"We're really happy with the membership of the Finance Committee," said Mulder, who returns as co-chair for his second term. "We'll begin by reviewing what the departments did with the investments we made in last year's budget, and then decide how best to craft this year's budget to address the state's fiscal needs."

Williams said, "As I look around the table, I'm pleased to see all areas of the state represented on the Finance Committee: Southeast, Anchorage, the Kenai Peninsula, the Interior and the Aleutians. That statewide perspective will benefit every Alaskan."

"I'm impressed by the spirit of cooperation we've already seen expressed this session," said James, a five-term legislative veteran. "We anticipate this Legislature will run very efficiently to address the people's business."

Kott, returning to the Rules chair he held in the 20th Legislature, said, "I am excited to get back to this position, where I can ensure that we'll maintain an orderly legislative process."

The full House committee memberships approved by the Committee on Committees are listed on the attached chart.

# # #

Broadcasters note: Audio comments are available on the Majority Actuality line, 1-800-478-6540

= Brian Porter, 51 K = Jeanneatte James, 30 K
= Eldon Mulder, 43 K = Bill Williams, 42 K

Attachments: House Majority Caucus Standing and Special Committee Memberships

| Top | Representative Porter's Page |
| Rep. Mulder's Page | Rep. Williams' Page | Rep. James' Page |
| Rep. Kott's Page |

House Majority Committee Membership
22'nd Alaska State Legislature

House Majority Standing Committee Assignments:



Health, Education, & Social Services


Committee on Committees


State Affairs

Labor & Commerce


Community & Regional Affairs

House Majority Special Committee Assignments:

Oil & Gas


Military & Veterans Affairs

Legislative Council

Legislative Budget & Audit

Economic Development, Trade, & Tourism



Regulation Review

| Top | Representative Porter's Page |
| Rep. Mulder's Page | Rep. Williams' Page | Rep. James' Page |
| Rep. Kott's Page | Rep. Foster's Page |